Inconsitancy by data aggregation

Hello,

Ninox newbie here so please be gentle :) I have imported a lot of a data and want to clean out data inconsistancies.  This case is fairly simple, for each invoice the invoice amount must matche the sum of its invoice items amount plus the invoice delivery costs.

The problem I am having is that "if" in the statement below, for some invoices it displays differences, but when I print these out the values are the same? I have tried comparing these as numbers or text, as many decimals as possible, you name it ... and I don't have consistant results, its driving me crazy.  

The following is the code which I run from the console:

for i in (select Invoices['Auction House'.name = "eBay"] order by 'Purchase Date') do
  let total := sum((select 'Invoice Items'['Invoices' = i]).'Invoice Line Amount IC')

let c := number(total + i.'Delivery Costs IC')
  if number(i.'Invoice Amount IC') != number(c) then
    format(number(i.'Invoice Amount IC'),"0.0000000") + " != " + format(number(c),"0.000000")
  end
end

Which outputs the following (incorrect) lines:

40.9400000 != 40.940000
88.9800000 != 88.980000

Can anyone explain this behaviour?

Thanks,

Ilde

15 replies

null
    • Sean
    • 3 yrs ago
    • Reported - view

There is a known issue with number precision...

https://ninox.com/en/forum/technical-help-5ab8fe445fe2b42b7dd39ee7/managing-precision-in-number-field-seeing-non-exact-values.-5dbeed16466081700bd68940

If you increased the precision you might see it. Do you need more than 2 decimal places?

• Sean
    • 3 yrs ago
    • Reported - view

It looks like Ninox isn't the only one with this issue...

https://cloud.google.com/spanner/docs/storing-numeric-data

• Sean
    • 3 yrs ago
    • Reported - view